Down by the Creek

Arvin and I went to the Bellingham Music Club's last meeting for this year. We start up again in the fall. The group performing were Millie and the Mentshn, a local band that specializes in Klezmer music. Millie sings and the rest play. This time they had a slide show highlighting all the wonderful musicians in 20th century America who were Jewish immigrants or children of immigrants. We heard wonderful music and learned a great deal about all the wonderful jazz and pop musicians who came from Jewish Klezmer roots. Great stuff.

Afterwards there was a tea with yummy goodies. We hung out with our music buddies and ate good stuff. Then we stopped at the Whatcom Coop to do some shopping before heading home.

By this time Arvin was ready for a little snooze. I decided to take a long walk in the park. That's where I took this photo along the east side of Whatcom Creek. It is an HDR made of seven photos. The light was so bright and contrasty that this seemed the best approach to catching the interesting textures and tree roots along the creek.

When I got home Arvin was up and we had a quick chat before I headed downstairs to do my blip. I picked this photo because I really liked all those roots exposed by the creek during high water. Right now the water is mellow and not so high. And we are having a great time of sun, quite rare for June. Looks like we are going to have a great summer. Ah...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.