D-Day

It's been incredibly moving watching and listening to the D-Day coverage today. My mum and dad have gone over to be in Normandy and I bet it's been amazing. A really emotional, historic day.
I was trying to explain it to the Little Misses this morning and don't know how well I succeeded: the Nazis were baddies in Germany. They decided they wanted France and other countries in Europe. We didn't think that was fair so we joined with other countries like America and Australia and we all went over in boats and fighted the Germans on the beaches and won and set France free and won the war!
Mr K didn't do a much better job on the way home when I stopped to take this photo. They wanted to know why I was taking a picture of a poppy (on a central reservation of a busy road!) He reminded them of the significance of the poppies and then ended up talking about appeasement!
At least the Little Misses have an idea that it's a special day. As they grow up they'll understand more.
And never forget.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.