Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The long hot journey south

I was pretty well ready for the journey this morning. I had woken in the night to remind myself that my passport was in the scanner, but did not get up to move it. All would have been well (I think) but the son of some neighbours came over to talk about their medical problems and we left in a bit of a hurry to catch the train in Hexham. 10 minutes out and I remembered the passport. So a quick dash home was required and I still made the train - just nicely in time!! Good on Mum who did the driving.

Remind me never to book the Edinburgh train to Kings Cross on a Friday. It was heaving and I could not find anywhere to put my large suitcase except in a doorway. The guard never came around for the whole journey!

At KC the heat hit me. It was a glorious day. There were various stalls in the square outside and this large set of canvases set up for people to join in the painting. This young woman was so absorbed that she did not know I took a lot of photographs.

The train to Luton was worse than KC train. "Only 4 coaches when they should be 8" announced one regular traveller, as he forced himself and his bike on board!

Now I need an early night. I'm told that the queues to check in start at 0500 for the flight I'm on - it leaves at 0830.

It will be worth it when we arrive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.