Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Never mind the Balkans - here's Romania

That's the title of a wry look at Romania by Mike Ormsby. I'm reading it at the moment.

Today was nearly all about the journey. I was amazed to see the crowds of people all descending on Luton Airport at 0515 this morning. The check in was very smooth and it was then a long wait for the flight. The plane was basic but not as uncomfortable as I expected.

The flight went by easily because I was talking to Raul and Crina who were next to me. They both worked hard to tell me things I need to know about Romania, what phrases to use and where to visit. Thank you both very much indeed.

At the airport of Cluj we were met by Hamish (tutor) and Smaranda (guide) and Horatio (our driver). It was a long drive to Hoteni in Maramures.

We are staying in three houses all in one garden. Here is the field below the house and the man of the house coming home at the end of the day. I liked the backlighting from the sun.

This place reminds me very much of Bulgaria.

Back blipped because first days were so busy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.