Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Hollyhock-gate

Thanks for all the comments yesterday and sorry I haven't had time to reply individually. But oh, the shame! The world knows that I mistook a Foxglove for a Hollyhock! I won't do that again; I could spot one at 200 paces now. But I'm more on home territory today. I might not know a Foxglove from a Hollyhock, but I know an Austin from an Aston Martin, a Ford from a Ferrari, and a Zastava from a Zonda. (You might like to Google those last two - probably the most extreme example. Back in the 1980's I hired a Zastava in Crete; the man said not to worry about the huge dent in the bonnet; a rock had fallen on it the day before. And you could only do a three point turn on a slope if you had a wall to lean it against; the handbrake was useless.) So today it was the annual Motorama in Olney. Lots of very desirable cars on display to raise money for the local Lions. Afterwards we called in at the village fete in Weston Underwood; we were only there long enough to buy a £2 raffle ticket and immediately win a bottle of Champagne. It must be my lucky day: I'm waiting for the phone call to say I won the 42inch TV in the other raffle.

This car is a Chevrolet Corvette Stingray; the type Prince sang about all those years ago. There are a few more pictures of the cars here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.