creative lenna

By creativelenna

Loki

Here is "Loki", my mom's standard poodle. He's 3 years old.  She also has "Imp" - her 10 year old standard poodle named after my Great Uncle William Glacken's dog . . . see Imp lounging here, he's quite the gentleman. Plus there's the puppy "Beda" - meaning Goddess of no responsibilities! I blipped a photo of Loki when he was just a puppy, here. In fact, that is the last photo I took of my dad before he passed away, a few months later.  I am glad to have this photo here on my blip journal. I still feel my dad's spirit with me, watching over me.

Anyway . . . geeze, I get distracted easily! This was taken with my new Olympus E-M10. Already in this short time I see the difference in what this camera is capable of. Tonight under the florescent lights in my mom's kitchen, I had trouble getting a photo of Beda, especially if she moved. Being a puppy she does! The shutter speed seemed too slow and I could see in the monitor many photos of her were quite blurred. I was working in "P" mode where the camera automatically adjusts shutter speed and aperture in response to subject brightness. Except that it wasn't! I could tell it was too slow but I have not worked with the camera enough to know how to do it . . .

I guess I should have chosen the "S" mode in order to change the shutter speed. And only when I came home & searched through the manual again did  I find I needed to use the rear dial to make such changes. It's hard to make a change like this from familiar to unfamiliar, but I know I can do it. This camera has a lot more "things" to work with like Live View, live control, super control panel, photo story -now, I did try that successfully, the camera puts 2 or more photos together and it looks cool! I have not even looked at the Art Filters yet, I am basically just trying to learn how to use the camera!!!

But I am super impressed with the quality. I just have to catch up with knowing how to use the camera!  Only view this photo large if you really like dogs -but it does show the awesome capabilities of the E-M10 I think. And I even reduced the size quite a bit from the original! xo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.