Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Ship in a bottle?

Today we left Hoteni, but I was up in time to do some photography in the garden. After the thunderstorm last night it was fresh and wet.

I decided to show you how the locals grow fruit in bottles on the tree, ready to made a potent spirit called tuica. We have been drinking the pear version each evening - very strong.

This was not easy to photograph and I hope you can see the pear inside and the one outside the bottle.

We visited:
- a wood carver at his yard where mainly religious carvings are done.

- a monastery for nuns, set in the hills and newly built - stunning setting and beautiful architecture. A rich order.

- had lunch at 3pm (timings of journeys are always underestimates by about half!

- arrived Sighisoara at 7pm before excellent meal out

- there are 50 stairs to my room from the ground floor but I have a good view of the square and Prince Charles stayed in this room!! (I did have a wry smile to note that someone had stubbed out cigarettes in the plastic soap dish. Wonder who??)

So tired and hot and tired, but tomorrow's itinerary sounds v good so a night's sleep should sort me out.

PS Almost impossible to decide which pic to show you again.

PPS Having a great time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.