The Great North Swim

Obviously I stayed up last night to watch the England game!
Obviously we lost so I could have just checked the result on the internet this morning and got more than five hours sleep. Sigh!
So I felt a bit sluggish when the alarm went off at 6am.
A cup of tea and a banana and I felt a bit more human.
The day was a bit of a blur!
My wave was setting off at 8.30am so we'd not been there long and it was time for me to change into my wetsuit, put my hat and goggles on, attach my timing chip, check in with two hundred and fifty others to jump into the acclimatisation pool - and be pleasantly surprised by it not being as freezing as I was expecting, do some mad group warm up exercises and then set off!
Finally! It's my third attempt at the Great North Swim and I actually made it into the lake, woohoo!!
It was so calm and lovely - after a bit of a scramble at the beginning while everyone settled into their place. After a few hundred metres when everyone was spread out I had a lovely space to myself, took my goggles off and kept up a leisurely pace. It was so beautiful!
I made it round in twenty nine minutes and fifty one seconds which was pretty fast for me. And as my dad said not bad for a forty year old!!
Miss K went next and then Mrs M. It was great watching all the waves setting off and finishing. The atmosphere was wonderful.
As was the bacon and egg roll and cup of tea I had after we'd all finished. Well earnt!
The journey home was long and it was lucky I wasn't driving as I started to nod off at about Warwick! Miss K did a fab job.
Unfortunately as I drove out of Bicester I realised that I was locked out of my house because Mr K is an annoying security freak and, unlike me, locks the front door when he goes out. Pah! Mr K had taken the Little Misses to see Nanny and I didn't have a front door key. Annoying.
I went to my mum and dad's for a cup of tea. They weren't there but I did actually have a key to their house!
Once I got home I unfolded myself out of the car, had some cuddles with Miss E, drank some tea made by my lovely husband and then took myself off to bed.
To say I'm tired would be an understatement!

A couple of backblips of our weekend away: Friday and Saturday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.