Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Poppy

Big day for the boychild. He jumped into bed with me this morning, wrapped his arms round my neck and curled himself into my stomach and whisper/shouted that today he was going to big school! He was a little unhappy when he realised he had to go to nursery first but soon got himself dressed and ready for the day.

He was so excited by 1.30pm it was hard to contain him while we were waiting for them to go in. I was a little worried as to what he would be like once inside. I shouldn't have worried really, two of the TA's were in the yard as I walked back to collect him and I was told that he had been fine and hadn't stopped smiling or talking the whole time. That's my boy!

He couldn't tell me anything he had done on the walk home, but at lights out he was full of it. From what he said I think they have had their phonic knowledge assessed and their numbers. He came home with a library book from 'ception, which he can go back and change whenever. He is a very happy boy.

He will see his teacher again tomorrow as we are going to the Boys School straight after swimming to watch the schools athletics competition as it is the reception teacher who runs the schools sports clubs. I arranged with her to go and watch a fortnight ago. Since then Carys managed to get on the team for the 40m and the relay. It will be the first time she has represented the school and her first (hopefully first of many) real athletics competition. I am surprised she went to sleep tonight she is so excited.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.