Morning :)

Feeling like a million dollars after yesterday's migraine I was up at 6am, had breakfast, did a few jobs and then headed out to the beach for the winter solstice sunrise. I was the only one there, a bit of red in the sky but no sun until later in the morning.

A slight breeze was catching a surge of waves as the river met with the incoming tide of the Pacific Ocean. Birds began a feeding frenzy, gulls squawked as they took flight chasing terns who had managed to catch a fish. On the estuary a group of spoonbills were quietly spooning with their long bills, shags, mallards and grey teal ducks had found an island which was quickly disappearing as the ocean flowed in, it was good to be back by the sea to smell the sea air, feel the winter breeze on my face, sink my shoes into the sand and to admire how Mother Nature had yet again changed the beach and river mouth with her many moods.

As always when I go to the beach there are far too many shots to choose from but I quite liked the quiet nature of this one, where the sky and sea seemed to be in unison with their lines, the light gently beaming down while the clouds just kept on rolling through and the colours just speak winter to me, it really wasn't as cold as it looks. It was not long after this shot that I was home having a nice hot cuppa.

Thanks for your thoughts yesterday, perhaps I needed that migraine to recharge me although since I had an early start I'm now starting to fade.

Warm summer days or cold winter days, days getting shorter or longer its all good, hope your all enjoying the weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.