Woof

Meet the dog on the wall.

I'm not even going to mention the weather. Suffice to say a run first thing this morning is the only time I've ventured outside today.

Which leads me to the dog. I've long thought the dog worthy of a blip. It's an hpx original ;-)

I spotted the piece of drift wood on a beach. To me it looked like a dog and idea was hatched to turn it into a piece of 'art' to hang on the wall. I've combined driftwood, copper and paua shell (similar to abalone).

The collar is the 'anchor' and it the bit attached to the wall. I worked out the angle and size I'd need to make the collar so the dog slides through and balances. I made a cardboard pattern of the nose, teeth, ear and collar. These were sent to Dad and he cut them out of some old copper pipe he had lying about.

I sanded off the rough edges of the copper and bent the spikes on the collar so they stand out. The eye is a natural hole in the wood with a piece of paua shell in it (kept breaking bits until I had the right shape, size and colour).

The spikes are glued to the collar as are the nose, teeth and ear to the wood. The collar is screwed into the wall.

I don't have any more dogs so the weather had better improve ;-)

Woof!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.