California Poppy

Thanks to our wonderful gardener Raven we have masses of California poppies in our garden. She seeded areas behind our house with poppy seeds and now we are reaping the benefits.

This morning I heard the crows worrying something and then heard the tell tale sound of an eagle. I rushed back to see if I could get some pictures. Unfortunately the eagle was deep in the foliage and when he flew off I just got a parting glance. But right in front of me was a mass of golden poppies in the sun. So I went in and changed to my macro lens and went back out to take photos. This photo is one of my favorites.

These poppies always make me think of my childhood in Northern California. Our house was up in the East Bay hills and always had open areas nearby. These lots always had bunches of wild flowers and tall grass. I used to wander through them enjoying the beauty and freshness of the place. Poppies grew everywhere and so having them in my garden blends my sense of my childhood home and my current home in a place that I love. I feel very fortunate to live and to have grown up in beautiful places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.