Breakfast Al Fresco

We let the Little Misses run around for a bit too long last night - largely because neither Mr K or I had the energy to round them up and get them into their sleeping bags! It was easier to watch them having fun with their new friends!
They were eventually persuaded inside the tent at about 9pm and passed out pretty quickly.
Mr K and I weren't too far behind!
I learnt nothing from my arctic experience in Snowdonia a few weeks ago and forgot to take anything warm to sleep in so I spent the night shivering in just a t-shirt. Sigh!
So it wasn't the best night's sleep but it was lovely to wake up to the gorgeous sunshine and eat yummy bacon sandwiches and scrambled eggs made by Mr K.
While we packed up the tent - and muttered darkly about the amount of effort involved in one night's camping - the Little Misses and their two friends ran around the field a bit more, built dens, filled water bottles at the tap and got soaked, and generally had a lovely time. And didn't get under our feet. Woohoo!!
After what felt like hours packing up (in fact was hours!!) we picked up Mr K's dad and went into Kingsbridge for lunch. We sat outside a lovely pub and had a delicious meal.
A child's ham, egg and chips for Miss L despite it not being on the menu - I love it when places are so accommodating - and both children's meals for free. Fabulous!
A quick stop back at Grandads and then it was time to set off.
We had to go back via the Travelodge in Paignton that we stayed in on Friday night because Mr K had left his Fitbit there.
Which I was very snooty about until I realised I'd left my pillow there!!
Yes I do travel with my own pillow!!
Mr K drove to the services at Exeter and after witnessing his several attempts at actually finding the way in I thought I'd best carry on home! A day in the sun yesterday has left Mr K behaving as if he's run a marathon across the Sahara Desert. Bless him!!
Traffic was predictably awful for a Sunday night and there were numerous toilet and food stops but we eventually got home just before 10pm.
Just in time to get the school uniforms in the wash and print out some pictures of our weekend and stick in them into a book that Miss E's got from school.
It came home with Taj the tiger and the children have to write about Taj's stay with them. Most people only have it for one night. We've had it since Wednesday so Miss E got quite a lot of writing to do in the morning!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.