An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

New Wheels...

And the new chapter of our lives begins with new wheels for me! :-)))

After 12 years of rattling about in a people carrier (most of the time on my own!) that was adapted to accommodate Alan's wheelchair, I finally get a car of my own again!

Wooooo Hoooooo!

As my regular Blip Pals will know, last year Alan got a new (well newer) wheelchair adapted car to give him his own transport when he's out and about with his Support Workers and that left me with the rattly old MPV. Just after the turn of the year, my thoughts turned to replacing it with something more suitable for me.

I had a list of must haves (elevated driving position, 4 wheel drive, short driver's door to name a few) that restricted my choices and I originally settled on the Audi Q3. Then we visited the VW garage and found the VW Tiguan Match, a special edition that fitted my criteria perfectly and it came with a whole host of extras. Much more than the Q3. It was a no brainer. For me anyway.

Didn't think I would get it till the end of July but got a call from the garage last week to say it would be ready today. How fortuitous was that?!! :))

So I was awake before the alarm this morning. D got Alan up, I gave him Brunch then he headed off in his car for a day out in Edinburgh with Ed (I think he's beginning to see the merits of this leaving school lark ;-)) I chucked some slap on my face (well had to look good for my new wheels ;) and D took me to VW to collect my new baby.

Salesman gave me a very thorough handover (whilst I was thinking yeah, yeah, I'll figure all that out later, I just want to DRIVE the thing!!!) then it was time to head off!

Out into the busy Perth traffic. Came to the first set of lights and the engine did that cut out thing. I've not had that in a car before and my initial thought was it would annoy me but by the time I'd got through three sets of lights I was used to it.

Out onto the dual carriageway and a chance to experience driving at 70-mph in complete comfort with no rattles, judders, squeaks or tyre noise, AND a decent in car sound system. Absolute bliss. :)))

Stopped for lunch at the local deli / cafe and it was there D and I realised neither of us had picked up house keys (Ed had his set so he locked up after we'd left when he was setting off with Alan) so we were locked out the house!

Shame we didn't have a new car to go driving around the backroads of Perthshire in to pass the time......oh wait! :D

Alan was home by the time we got back so we could get in the house.

So, an exciting day. I'm quite exhausted now and feel the need to recline on the sofa, feet up and read my handbook something exciting ;-))

Have a great weekend Blip Pals :))

PS Who would like a ride in my new car then?

PS Thank you SO much for all your wonderful comments, hearts, stars and new subs on yesterday's blip. I am overwhelmed by your loveliness and needed a new box of hankies. Your generosity put my boy top of spotlight page for ages! Blip is just the most wonderful community. :))) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.