Sports Day

I love Sports Day!!
And I love Blip for letting me see how the Little Misses have changed since last year and the year before!
Both Miss E and Miss L had been a bit anxious about sports day this year - saying they can't run fast and won't win anything.
I've tried to be reassuring and let them know it doesn't matter how they do as long as they try.
And I assured them that I'd be living proof in the Mother's Race that you can come last and the world won't stop spinning!
There was such a lovely atmosphere as usual. Glorious sunny weather, a beautiful setting, lots of friends to talk to, nice cups of tea, and lots and lots of excited - but very well behaved - children.
Miss L came second in the egg and spoon race and was very pleased with herself. Miss E unfortunately decided that it was better to not try and therefore fail than to try and fail.
A bit of a convoluted sentence but she basically has a fear of failure and losing face so will completely disengage to avoid it.
I hope she grows out of it.
I did my bit to help by coming last in the Year 1 and 2 Mother's race!! I got a sympathy hug from Mr L the PE teacher who appreciated my efforts! Miss E was so proud of me and came rushing over to give me one of her well done stickers.
I'll come last in a million races to make my daughter happy and proud!
I should add that I had earlier come third last in the nursery Mother's race. Woohoo!!!!
It was a fabulous day! So many races, cheering parents and happy children.
Nana and Papa came to watch and stayed for the buffet lunch. It's my dad's birthday today and I think it was a pretty nice way to spend the morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.