Clover

It was Miss E's year 1 assembly this morning which was really good. Annoyingly as I went to take a photo of her sitting there looking cute with her classmates I got the dreaded no card in camera message. How annoying!
They chose endangered animals as their topic this term and presented lots of facts, pictures, stories and songs. So sweet!
It's been heartbreaking listening to Miss E talk about all the amials (she still can't say animals!!) that are endangered and dying out. A couple of weeks ago she nearly had me in tears in the car saying we need to adopt a snow leopard - she'd seen the advert on TV. She said there were only a few left in the world but if we adopt one they'll be OK.
There was a stall at the assembly selling plants they'd grown from seeds and cakes they'd made. They're raising money to adopt an animal at Whipsnade Zoo where they're going in a few weeks. Miss E is giddy with excitement about it!
I had a fairly lazy afternoon at home watching tennis and tidying up a bit just for a change
Miss E had her swimming - last one in the green hats, woohoo! - and then we went round to Miss E's house. They've made friends in the swimming lessons and despite being periodically separated as one or other of them has been moved up into another group they've always ended up back together and have stayed friends.
And I've chatted to her mum or dad for half an hour once a week for a year or so!
I had a cup of tea and then left them playing while I went to get Miss L from school.
I must admit to having a minor panic attack on the way to school wondering what I was thinking leaving Miss E in a house with people we don't really know. What if she wasn't there when I got back.....
But, of course, all was well, and the girls had a great time.
I ended up staying until after 7pm. Miss L joined in the fun and games in the garden and I had lovely chats with Miss E's mum and dad - Mrs J and Mr D.
Miss E has lovely school friends but it's nice to be able to make friends out of school too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.