Ghost Ship

I was in a rush today when I posted this photo. Didn't even have time to write a journal entry. Now it is late and I'm home from the first Bellingham Festival of Music concert. It was phenomenal.

It began with Bach's Brandenburg Concert No 1 played by a group from the larger orchestra. They were perfect. Right together. Just right balance. Ah heaven.

The the highlight of the concert for me, Stefan Jakiw playing the Prokofiev Violin Concerto No 2 with the full orchestra. What can I say? He is so young and so good. He played it from memory which seemed more than usually amazing because of the rhythmic complexity of the piece. He played sweetly. He played strongly. He played wildly. He played softly. And every note was spot on, even in the extremely complex passages. And the orchestra was spot on too. After the performance he played a Largo from a Bach unaccompanied sonata. So moving.

After intermission the orchestra played a long and rich Serenade (No 1) by Brahms. Everybody was walking on air as they left the music hall. A great start for the festival.

The photo was from a walk the three of us took at Zuanich Point in Bellingham. It was an overcast day and there was some chop so the reflections were all a bit fractured. This is one that I turned upside down. I liked the ghostly feel of it.

We are still working on our troubles and I really appreciate all your kind thoughts and prayers. Thank you so much.

And thank you too for putting my owl photograph in the spotlight on Thursday. It's been a long time since I've had a photo there and it feel good to see it among so many other great photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.