Explorers

The Little Misses and I went for a fabulous nature walk this afternoon. Miss E always says nature is her favourite thing!
First thing this morning she was out in the garden hunting mini beasts (the new name for creepy crawlies!) and ended up with a pot full of woodlice, centipedes, millipedes and a grasshopper. Quite a haul!
After giving her menagerie some leaves to eat (I did try and suggest stones, soil and twigs but she was adamant they'd prefer leaves from the apple tree!) we set off to the woods for our nature walk.
When I was growing up in the village our house was next to "the woods". All my life I thought it was an actual wood but when I came back I realised it was really just a path with trees down either side.
My brother and I spent hours down there climbing trees, conkering, digging for old bottles, picking armfuls of cow parsley to bring home, fishing for newts in the "swamp" at the bottom. Generally having a wonderful time!
So it was like turning the clock back today being there with my girls. We looked for creepy crawlies, identified trees and plants and birdsongs, we bashed our way through nettles and brambles, we attempted pooh sticks in a pretty stagnant stream, collected feathers, seeds and fir cones, waved at cows, moved snails to safer spots so the birds couldn't get them. Generally had a wonderful time!
Miss L span round at one point and said it was the best day of her life!!
We bought lots of sticks and branches home to make a wildlife house in the garden. Miss E chose particularly fungussy ones. Nice!
We got the paddling pool out this afternoon. It's enormous! I'm so used to buying things and being disappointed that they're smaller than expected but this is like a giant swimming pool!
The Little Misses jumped in squealing and had fun for a few seconds. Miss E then started whinging that it was too cold but had a hissy fit when I suggested she get out. It went a bit downhill from there and she ended up shivering and whinging and dripping all over the sofa.
Miss L on the other hand loved it and stayed out for ages splashing and sliding about.
Rather than flood the village letting the water out I think we'll leave it set up for a bit. After a few days it may be warm enough for Princess E!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.