WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

It's that tree again

Better large.

I was going to include a pylon this time, but it didn't happen. No apologies, it's a lovely tree (two out of the five photos I submitted to the recent exhibition were of this tree). On this occasion it was the clouds that attracted me.

I had a rather quiet day; a chilly swim, laundry, deep-cleaned the kitchen, made some slow-cooked ragu Bolognese, and some white chocolate and cranberry cookies, and finally (after a month) finished Almudena Grandes' Ines et la Joie while trapped on the sofa with a needy cat on my lap.

He was still on my lap while I watched the end of today's stage of the Tour de France. I found a really interesting article on an Australian site about the technology behind the transmissions. It's a huge technical challenge transmitting continuous high-quality images of a rapidly moving race, often in poor weather conditions and mountainous terrain. And then it is edited on the spot for syndication around the world, with journalists having to make split-second decisions about which feed to use at any given time. They must be nearly as exhausted as the cyclists by the end of the day. I was interested to see though that they work from a detailed script prepared months in advance.

And now, Alfred Brendel playing Schubert Impromptus, a glass of wine, and blip :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.