A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Wacky races

Actually, I have no idea what they are up to. I did ask but didn't really understand the reply so in my head it just became wacky races. Today, for me, this picture sums up the joys of having children who are at an age where they can entertain themselves and who get on well enough to spend long chunks of time with no-one else required. Oh, and how lovely it is when they show the creativity to make their own games out of stuff. Felt so old-fashioned nearly put this in sepia.

Another day of changed plans today. We were due to be heading out to visit some friends who have moved out t'country (well, not very deep, not very dark Kent but it's all relative). Me and Anna both woke up full of coughs, cold and generally blah-ness and so we cried off and have mainly remained under cover of blanket ever since. Well I have. Anna made a valiant attempt at playing this morning but is now curled up next to me on the sofa.

The ridiculous over processing is due to me using my lying around time purposefully to play around with GIMP (thanks for the tip meancoast). Anna likes this result the best. Mainly because she likes the colour of her face and neck which could just indicate that she watches too much Simpsons.

Jackson was praised for his reading by his teacher last week which has prompted him to spend every spare second of the weekend reading. At last report he was onto his 3rd chapter book of the day. Extraordinary what a little encouragement can achieve.

Thanks to the wonders of technology I have also managed to submit my tax return with only needing to phone the helpline twice and go and fetch various bits of paper about 4 times which doesn't seem too bad at all. It was, of course, very taxing to do and I had very little clue what was going on for most of it but it's done now.

Another cuppa and the papers for me for the rest of the afternoon, Anna is falling asleep, as, I think, is Carl and Jackson is, of course, reading. I don't think I've ever known our house this quiet.

Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.