On the balcony of Wittersham Road Signalbox

My third turn on my own at Wittersham Road today. A much easier turn than the previous two as Northiam box was not open so there were less fewer codes to send and receive and fewer times to record in the train register - always my stumbling block.

It was a good day too as all the services ran to time so I was done and dusted by 17.15 and on my way home. A delightful day in the quiet of Wittersham, slap bang in the middle of nowhere. A few cars now and again, just one visitor but surrounded by the sounds of the countryside, birds singing and the gentle breezes blowing through the windows.

At home though, a busy evening, first to the allotment to denude it of anything that was ready for harvest as we're off to the Lakes again tomorrow for 5 days staying with Susan's sister and husband in their caravan on the shores of Lake Windermere. My packing is done, the car has been checked, blip done. Time for a bit of R and R while Susan finishes her packing. Ready for an early start tomorrow. 6.00am all being well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.