A Break In the Clouds, Kaituna Valley

Just as I had resigned myself to the fact that I would probably need to do an inside photography tonight, a quick peek outside revealed that there was actually a clear sky. After having made it home in the rain, the clouds parted enough to reveal the galactic bulge of the Milky Way, in Sagittarius and Scorpio, in the Eastern night sky.

No less than 5 minutes after I took this shot, the heavens opened once more for another passing shower over Banks Peninsula. That's the thing about photography - you've got to take your chances when they're presented!

I'm going to have to apologise in advance as there's every chance tomorrow is going to be another starry night shot, weather permitting. I'm heading south to Fairlie for the night, so hopefully the Mackenzie district will be able to turn on its famous night sky for me...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.