Learning day by day

By EmmaF

William Bear

Behind every bear is a story. William broke my heart a little while ago after Carys's bear party when he cried because he didn't have a teddy bear! For the record he has a number of cuddlers, but only one very small bear, which was bequeathed him by Carys. He was due a number of treats due to the fact he is finally sleeping through. Well to be honest he isn't sleeping through because I hear him awake, but the break through is that he only shouts for me if he needs the loo or if his covers are on the floor, which in my mind is more of a break through than him sleeping through. He knows I will come if he needs me, but he has moderated what that need is. So I brokered a deal with him, for three treats I would take out a subscription to the Maths Seeds website that he has had on a trial period and that he loves. He jumped at that. The second offer was for the other three treats he could go and make a bear at Pots of Art, but that would be all his treats gone. He jumped at the chance.

So here is Will and William Bear. I did most of the stuffing but he made the stuffing into balls for me, he chose his heart (blue with courage written on it) and he then designed his t-shirt. He then transferred that design to the t-shirt. So William Bear has a green and red heart on his back, a rainbow on one sleeve and paint brushes on the other sleeve and then independently Will wrote the bears name very carefully under the heart. Will then received an adoption certificate for William Bear. He is so chuffed. When he got home William Bear was shown round the house and garden, introduced to Billy, Elliot and the other cuddlers and of course went to bed with Will.

I went with Brownies to Letchworth Splash pools on the train. It was good fun and I am sad that Carys is leaving as the Brown Owl is great. However I am sure that she will enjoy the new pack she joins.

I am now on holiday until 2nd September, Carys finishes tomorrow and we go camping Saturday. I have a lot to do before then, but once the tent is pitched in East Runton I will feel like we are on holiday. I know this summer will fly by so I will try to savour every minute.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.