Australia Day

I started my Australia Day with a sleep in. Then I went to the bottle shop to get some grog. Unfortunately it was 9.30am and the bottle shop opened at 10. I felt like a wino. I wasn't alone though.

Jo and I went back just after 10am and all I can say it was a shitfight. Australians buying as much booze as they could afford (and some could afford plenty) to last them the day.

We got some Margarita mix, some wine and some beer. More about that later.

I was going to take the boat and go fishing but a) it was unbelievably hot, b) the wind was starting to come up and c) I needed to do some painting in the kitchen.

The kitchen was renovated nearly 2 years ago. All we need to do is paint and tile. Well, nearly 2 years later, I painted today. Doone. And that is som ething to cross off my 2010 "to do" list. The aircon might have been on in the house but I still managed to lose quite a bit of weight in sweat.

Late this arvo we went to Ross and Trix's for darts and drinks. They had had a Mexican lunch with thier kids so I shaved 4 days of beard into a mo and donned and sombrero. This is the bit where the aforementioned Margarita mix comes in. Jo fancied a Margarita. It didn't freeze but id was bloody cold. Nice.

Australia: it's all about beer, stubbie holders, tattoos, singlets and sombreros. Go figure on the last one. This song sums up Australia Day.

Happy Australia Day all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.