On the Ferry

Today has been a tough day.
Mr K had to go back to work today rather than tomorrow so rather than leaving tonight as planned he left first thing this morning to go back to Milton Keynes to get the train to London.
Unfortunately I woke up feeling awful, hardly able to move with incredibly sore knees and wrists.
Probably the result of sleeping on an air mattress with a slow puncture!
So I was feeling a bit sorry for myself and not in the holiday mood and even worse when Mr K left.
But the Little Misses are on holiday and much as I wanted to lie down in a darkened room all day I had to get on with it as best I could.
We decided to get the ferry over to the Walberswick side to go crab fishing over there for the first time. I hobbled along behind everyone and somehow got into the ferry with lots of help from my dad.
The Little Misses loved the ferry - a little rowing boat masterfully handled by a woman who must be incredibly fit! - Maisie less so!!
We had a couple of hours crab fishing before lunch. My mum, dad, Mrs S and Mr C took Miss L with them up to a café for tea and cake. It was nice to have time alone with Miss E but very difficult to manage the crab lines, the bucket, the net, stopping her falling in, getting up and down for crab races...... All in million degree sunshine!
But she was giddy with her haul. Sixty one!!!
We had lunch in the lovely garden of The Bell. Another fishfinger sandwich for me, yummy!
And another pint of Adnams shandy. What a lush I'm turning into!!
After a mooch round Walberswick and a play in the park for the Little Misses we headed back to the ferry.
The others headed back to the campsite but somehow I ended up crab fishing again with Miss E. A lovely Australian man was there with his little girl and when they left he gave us his giant bucket and a crab line with a foot long fish carcass attached. Nice!
The crabs loved the fish and we caught some monsters!
That was me about done. By now I couldn't move my head as my neck had seized up completely and I felt as if I'd been in a car crash.
I ended up sat in a chair by myself crying my eyes out and just wanting Mr K to come back and look after me.
He offered but I know that his work is full on at the moment or he wouldn't have had to leave early in the first place.
Some painkillers, some wasabi peanuts, some tea and an early night and hopefully tomorrow will be a better day.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.