THE LANC

Just having a quiet day at home. Supposed to be catching up with chores but the dishes remain unwashed and the ironing still hasn't been started. I have just been " busy going nothing ". Neil is coming over after work so I will cook his usual meal - steak, curly fries and onion rings. Neil is not very adventurous with food. He knows what he likes and sticks with it.

There is a programme on TV this evening about the Lancaster Bomber which I'm going to watch. My father in law George was a flight engineer on the Lancasters so the show should be a bit of an insight into what he got up to. He never talked much about the war but I have one of his little log books and it seems he took part in a few bombing raids over Germany. I have blipped a painting of a " Lanc " which hangs in my hall. Its quite a large one measuring 32" by 22 ". Douglas and I bought it as a gift for George and it hung proudly over his mantlepiece. When he died and we cleared out his house we brought the painting home with us and its been in the hall ever since.

The Avro Lancaster is a British four-engined Second World War heavy bomber designed and built by Avro for the Royal Air Force (RAF). It first saw active service with RAF Bomber Command in 1942 and, as the strategic bombing offensive over Europe gathered momentum, it became the main heavy bomber used by the RAF. The "Lanc", as it was affectionately known became the most famous and most successful of the Second World War night bombers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.