Blipday Blues (in a good way)

Well if my maths is correct, and it may well not be, this should be my culmination of four years worth of blips! I was severely thwarted in attempting to get a suitable birthday image. The morning was mizzly and heavy and I sped out to get some suitable mistiness - it all just looked grey rather than atmospheric. I sped off to one of my favourite abandoned house - humungeous white bullocks guarded the path. Plan C , I sped off to a holy well - the path had disappeared and the briars and nettles were impenetrable. Plan D - another small trespass to a second abandoned house. All good except I acquired a companion - a large bouncy wolf-like dog who jumped and licked but was friendly. A window, and look someone has carefully written the number of days in the smeary window pane (many thanks to my artistic director for his help here!)

Four years is a long time. I was lying in bed last night thinking about what Blip means, as you do. I thought it was something about the global snapshot, but in fact it is a human snapshot, a reflection of everything that is life on this planet. Some of us have babies, others watch good friends die, some of us fall in love, some of us are wounded, others are lonely, some of us are fullfilled others still searching. Some of us live on our own, others surrounded by families. Some live in bedsits others in country estates; some in cities others on remote islands. We eat, we laugh, we cry, we make friends, we fall out, we run, we cycle, we swim, we read, we create, we garden, we paint, we write. Some of us work, some of us don't. We're all ages and all colours. Some of us are Bhuddists, some are Christians, others are Jews, or Muslim, or pagans or nothing at all. Some of us love the sea, others love the cities. Some are entranced by faces others by wild landscapes. Some holiday in posh hotels with turrets, others perch their tents on the edge of cliffs, others only dream. Some of us worry about the planet, about each other, about living well. We all have a zest for life, a camera, a few pages on this special site. We're all connected.
Right, enough thinking, time for a swim. Yesterday I swam in thick fog - rather nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.