The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Supermacroslugballistic bombleisatrocious

This is only the second time I've ever blipped a slug in super-macro with LED! The first was in Aug 2012.

Bomble the cat is obviously feeling much better these days despite having very few teeth and arthritis of the hind quarters. Recently he's been bringing me presents. The other night it was a little mouse, deceased. Today he spent at least an hour stalking this slug, and then brought it up to the dining room. After I had blipped it I scooped it up on a Compassion in World Farming envelope, and returned it to the flower bed.

It's not a very good shot, there were no eyes to be seen at either end. But it does show the amazing camouflage needed for hiding in grass! It was several inches long, and I've never seen patterning like it. Reminded me of a basking shark. P.S. I think it is a common old UK yellow slug! Not that common to me!

I spent the day trying to pack for our holidays (tomorrow) and get the house ready for Eileen and Kirsty, who will stay here in our absence and look after Bomble. The phone rang about seventeen times an hour. I also listened to some Sea Shanties by Kinber's Men, to get me in the mood for going to Cornwall. I knew I was about to change domestic fuel suppliers, but could not find the paperwork to tell me on which day of my absence the meter was supposed to be read! Eventually it turned up.

...As did most things, apart from Steve's missing grey shorts. He has now finished work: hurrah to that! I'm on holiday for two weeks, which is an unheard of luxury.

I'm sorry the wildlife is not more exotic today, but hey! I only took two pictures. Guess what they both featured?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.