It Started With a Wink

It's not often you can pinpoint the exact second of a life changing event.
At least not a good one.
Eight years ago today I went into work without a clue that I was going to do something later that day that would change my life forever.
It was a Monday.
I was single and living with my parents in a comfortable rut
A few days before I'd had the realisation that this was fine at 32 but I didn't want to be waking up five, ten years later with nothing changed!
And then I'd seen an advert for Match.com. The one where the couple were joined together having difficulties getting on buses, going to the gym etc.
Late on Sunday night I went onto the site and browsed through - just to see what sort of singletons were available within a ten mile radius. There were one or two who looked promising so I signed up, wrote my profile, uploaded a three year old picture and waited to see if anyone got in touch.
I had no intention of contacting anyone myself. That would be crazy.
So on that Monday morning I went to work and carried on browsing through eligible men worked as hard as I could all day.
Late in the afternoon, on a whim, I changed my preferences from "never married" to "any".
Mr K's profile appeared.
I read it through once and without even stopping to think pressed the "wink" button.
As I've said before I knew he'd wink back and I knew what our future held. All in a flash.

Today I took our eldest daughter to a gymnastics summer camp while he took our youngest to her swimming lesson.
Imagine if I hadn't seen that advert, or if I'd left my preference as "never married" or if I hadn't hit that "wink" button.
Life changing!
I can't believe it's been eight years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.