Eventful day

Cousteau, Lenci and I had a late start. Up at 9.30 am.

We took a stroll down to the paint shop and got some paint mixed for my new (old) hutch dresser.

Then JL and I (along with six dogs) piled into her wee jalopy and headed north to Greta Valley.

We were taking Bracken (Cousteau and Lenci's younger brother) back home after a week's sojourn with JL.

His people own a wonderful (for want of a better word) homestead 'Tipapa' up there. It's open to the public and is truly the most refreshing, peaceful place I have been to in a long long time. Stunning views, good food, charming company and glorious weather.

It would make a paradise for the avid photographer with the original woolshed and shearing gear, the Savannah type rolling hills, the Kereru (NZ Wood Pigeons) and the peace.

John and Joanne were extremely welcoming and informative about the place and about the surrounding area and JL, the pooches and I had a great time.

Home in time for Mass.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Then the fun started.

B was attacked by some 'yoofs'. They were tanked and looking for trouble. To give him his due, he didn't 'play'. He just backed off and took four rather nasty punches to the face and head. It took some Herculean effort on his part not to deck the guy back but to his credit, he did it.

I am so disappointed with myself. I was sitting in my car. Doors locked. Dog in the back. I didn't realise that the guy was actually connecting with B's face. I should have taken photos of the guy punching him. I should have called the cops. I kind of froze and didn't do anything.

Hindsight, yarda yarda ya, but I should have done SOMETHING!

D, who was also with us, had his wallet and watch nicked by the young hoons from the car when he went over to help B. It was horrible. So pointless and needless and bluddy annoying! =(

Anyway, we called the cops after the event and they came and took our statements. I was shaking and kept getting confused with the order of things and the times but the young policeman was very nice and patient and got it out of me in the end.

Then we went to A&E. Bruised and a bit of blood but nothing serious.

B and D have decided that if I'd had a German Shepherd instead of a Vizsla, then I could have let him out of the car and the kids would have run off. Hmmm.

Anyway, it's late now (or early, depending on how you view it) so I'm going to bed.

I'm just angry and tired and frustrated.

I'm sure it'll look better after some sleep.

Night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.