a town called E.

By Eej

SQUIRREL!

This morning when I got up it was 3F/-16C. Brrr. I was afraid I'd do today's Blipping inside, but it went up to about 10 an hour later, so we went for a walk. I was wearing about 4 layers of clothes, though we did see some kids in t-shirts later. It's been said that you know the true Michiganders by how they dress in winter; if it's above 10F, it's shorts and a t-shirt.
Yeah, I'm happy to stay a crazy for'ner for the rest of my life if that's what it takes!

Anyway ...
There's a church in the block behind our house, and they have a bit of a forest behind that. We've seen quite a few deer there but today we were greeted by the deafening noise of a woodpecker. It's LOUD for such a tiny thing!
It managed to pose nicely, as did some of the cardinals. So pretty, the red against the white and brown :) When we got home with icy noses and clear heads there was a squirrel staring at me from the next yard. I knew why:
My first winter here (2007/2008) we bought a feeder for the birds who in turn donated it (voluntary or not) to the squirrels. When it gets really cold I feed whatever wants to be fed corn and other goodies, but it had been about a week since I filled it and the neighbour squirrel was giving me the "you WILL feed me. Look into my eyes ... you WILL feed me" stare that I recognize from the cats. So, I put the corn out, went inside and walked into a festival of squirrel about 10 minutes later. There were 4 of them; 3 trying to get to the feeder and the one that was not going to give up the food.

Sorry woodpecker, sorry cardinals ... your Blip time will come. Today it's all about the squirrels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.