Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The ride to Sardasca

Tomorrow we are going to Munich, and we have decided not to take Murdoch with us as I think a quick city visit won't be very enjoyable for him. He is staying with a local woman who runs an informal 'kennel' from her home - the dogs have the run of her small cottage which is on the edge of a forest, and they sleep on mattresses - a bit of a dog paradise! We were hoping to drop him off as we leave tomorrow morning, but as tomorrow is a bank holiday here in Switzerland, she asked me to drop Murdoch off this morning. So I have been without him all of today and have felt quite bereft...and I confess I have driven past her house three times today to see if I could spot him in the garden! He is such a loyal and constant companion, I miss him terribly when he is not with me - as a friend once said, dogs are more reliable and love you more unconditionally than any man or child will!

This morning it rained and was very misty until about lunchtime. Then as soon as it cleared I set off on the bike (*), to go to Alp Sardasca, which is the base point before you climb up to the glacier. It was about a 20km cycle but a climb of 466m. It was an opportunity to do this without Murdoch, as that distance is too much for him these days. This is one of the views going up the valley before the steep part of the journey.

* Ok, I admit I was using an e-bike, but I only switched on the power for the steep part of the journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.