An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Happy 25th Wedding Anniversary D!

Backblip

Silver Wedding Anniversary Celebrations - Day 3

Well D, we made it! Twenty-five years! Sorry, I mean 25 HAPPY years. I know how you like to correct me! :-))

After our over-indulgent late night we decided room service was the only way to go for breakfast. Eggs Benedict for D and whisky porridge brûlée for me. I have never tasted anything like it. Utterly divine. The food equivalent of the bed!

Leisurely shower, dressed then back home to give Alan his lunch. Our house guests were just finishing breakfast when we arrived. Lazy lot, it was after midday!!! David chatted with them while I gave Alan lunch then they left and we left not far behind them.

Again a drive in Perthshire was abandoned, not because of the weather this time but just because we just could not resist the sheer luxury of the hotel. Well actually, it wasn't really the luxury that drew us back but the atmosphere. They took such good care of us. Every single member of staff, from top to the bottom, was just outstanding. So warm and friendly, so chatty and so welcoming. It is just an absolutely lovely place to be!

We found ourselves a cosy little corner in the lounge, ordered a toasted sandwich (even the toasted sandwiches tasted like heaven!) and sat and chatted and people watched. Great fun.

When David went home to give Alan his dinner I headed upstairs and snuggled on the bed with my book but was asleep within seconds. It's like there's chloroform seeping from the pillows! Woke up and looked at the time and realised I better get a move on and get myself ready as we were eating in the hotel's Chez Roux restaurant that evening. I was drying my hair when David arrived back and in the blink of an eye we had our glad rags on and were heading down to the bar for a pre-dinner G&T.

After choosing the food (we both had Albert Roux's signature dish, twice baked cheese soufflé in cream, followed by the Chateaubriand) we pondered over which bottle of wine to have with the fillet. After settling on a Malbec we were informed that Ele and kenny had left instructions with the hotel to charge the wine to them. Another wonderful surprise in a weekend of wonderful surprises! Luckily for them we hadn't gone for the Bordeaux at £1200 a bottle (although if we'd known in advance they were paying, we might have ;-))))))

Despite being stuffed, we managed to eat dessert. Lemon tart for D and cherry soufflé with pistachio ice cream for me. Oh yes indeedy!

The meal was outstanding, again with the staff providing the right amount of attention and humour.

Back upstairs to fresh, fluffy slippers at the side of the bed and chocolates on the pillows. A truly unforgettable evening.

D, after thirty years together, 25 of them married, I still pat myself on the back every day for making the best decision of my life, which was nodding vigorously all those years ago when you asked me to marry you.

We have shared incredible highs and devastating lows, but through it all we have never stopped loving and, most importantly, never stopped laughing. As I told you today, there are many, many things I could say but it all boils down to this....

Thank you and I love you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.