Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

The Night Shift

It's funny, but during your working life you wish you could retire or win the lottery, so you don't have to work again. And then when you never have to work again, you miss it!

I was fortunate enough to retire at 48. Fancying a change of direction I went self employed for 6 years working six days away. I was getting busier by the month and sorting the tax out was a pain. I'd had enough so packed it in.

A few months ago I got myself a bit part job on a call out basis which suited me, as I could carry on and work around it. A couple of days ago I was asked to do 'the night shift' and, thinking it'd be fun, took up the offer.

It must be about 13 years since I last worked a night shift. I think of some of the things I did, stuck out in fields, cemetries (yes!), buildings, in all winds and weathers. Driving around in a car on a nice summers night, listening to talkSPORT on the radio, is no hardship in comparison. It was actually quite enjoyable!

I managed to spot a few photo's, but like the one I've posted best, of the moon over someone's chimney.

I got home at 3am, and luckily the phone stayed silent. It was a struggle getting up at 8.30am to get to my dental appointment.

The British soccer season kicks off tonight. Oddly enough, my team (Cardiff City) are the first to play and it's an away fixture against Blackburn Rovers. It's on Sky tv so I'll watch it. I look forward to it. Last season in the top flight wasn't enjoyable, so hopefully this season will only be better.

My farmer friend, Brian, told me that the Field Of Gold photo (Wednesday this week) is of Spring Barley.

Enjoy the weekend. Hopefully the weather won't be as bad on Sunday as forecast. It's a day off for me - so I expect it will be!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.