Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Caerleon River Bridge Stars

It was midnight high tide in Newport and the stars were fairly visible, so I took this one from the river bank by The Hanbury Arms, Caerleon.


Caerleon Bridge made of stone built was opened in 1806 as a replacement for the previous wooden bridge, it carries the B4236 road traffic into and from Caerleon village. The bridge is the furthest upstream of the nine bridges over the River Usk within the city boundaries of Newport. It is built at the site of a Roman river crossing, now long gone, for access to Caerleon, one of the most important cities in Roman Britain! The name Caerleon may derive from the Welsh for "fortress of the legion"; around 800 AD it was referred as Cair Legeion guar Uisc. The Romans called it Isca.

The extra photo is taken on my car cam about 10.30am this morning. It is of a motorcyclist who was overtaking a few cars on the opposite side of the road, approaching my car, on my side of the road. How I missed him I will never know. He was travelling at speed. He missed my car by inches. He nearly got killed!

What makes this all the more astonishing is that (I'm 99% sure) it is the same motorcyclist who I had a run in with one on 3rd June 2015. Here's the story here

Just proves some people will never learn!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.