Two men in a boat

Yesterday I homed in on the natural habitat of the canal. Today it is the human factor. I arrived at the canal bridge at Netherton just as this small craft had been let through by the waterway men. It had entered the canal at Bowling from the Clyde Estuary. This is the first time I'd been around when this pedestrian bridge was swung back. I'd wondered whether this was something entrusted to the crew but, because the bridge is a public right of way, I reckon there are safety issues. I discovered it is only opened twice a day about 11am and around 2.30pm and the canal authorities have to be notified for their men to be there. So, although it looks like an idyllic leisurely journey, the canal users have to have a plan and stick to it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.