North West Fontier

Swing, swing together
With your body between your knees,
Swing, swing together,
With your body between your knees...
.

This is my tribute to the wonderful Lauren Bacall who has died aged 89. I've always loved her sultry looks on screen, but especially because my mum looked so like her. I loved seeing her smile at the Greengrocers when I went with her on the Saturday round of local shops, Big Ron would look up and say, "Ah here's the lovely Lauren," he'd then point out to other customers how she was Worsley's own Lauren Bacall.

One of my favourite films is North West Frontier, they don't make them like that anymore. She is brilliant in it and when the train is attacked she wields a gun with Kenneth Moore. Other fans will recognise the Eton boating song that they sung...I can't stop singing it now...ha ha ha. I hope they show all her films again.

I worked today. It wasn't too busy and I was chatting with Sue between washing up and sreving and without thinking I happened to mention that I was once a finalist in Junior Cook of the Year...."Ooooh right, let's get you doing some cooking then." Now there is nothing difficult on the menu, but it's getting used to how they do things, where everything is and timing all the orders. Actually, I quite enjoyed it all and the time passed quickly.

Well I'd better go and move the gun from the hallway...in case anyone pops round. I have to stress it is an air rifle and all above board.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.