Uncommon Angle For A Darter

I went to Amwell nature reserve this afternoon for the first time in ages. It was lovely. I've been up to my eyes dealing with my mother's care, welfare and property and haven't been able to get away.

I was hoping for a dramatic dragon in flight pic but was beguiled as usual by a little common darter. These dragonflies are so fearless and seem to enjoy interacting with humans. I love the way they cock their heads at you.

I've taken many pics in the past of their funny Nursie faces so was looking for a different angle. This one didn't seem to mind me using props and was quite interested in the sprig of purple loosetrife that I presented it with. I didn't realise how beautiful the back of their heads are.

I met a young man touting a camera and bins and asked him what he was looking for. He said anything. We went hunting together. He could hear a water vole munching! I saw the reeds move but didn't get a pic. :(

PS Ruddy nuisance, I've messed up again. ;) uniqueandlovely has kindly pointed out that this is a ruddy not a common darter. I should have checked. I usually try to narrow down my IDs but didn't post until late as I was struggling. Excuse is that my drive is so clogged up with pics I can't even see the thumbnails. I'll have to move some more onto my portable hard drive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.