WATER (3) - AUGUST CHALLENGE

I think it's fair to say that every single part of my body aches today especially my hands and legs after pressure washing our driveway and all round the house. We borrowed our son's Karcher machine and it is a big beast!

It's a shame really that I didn't leave it until today because then you could have seen me at work! It was great fun doing it (lots of water) but not very good when it was pouring with rain (a lot more water), but as I was already wet, I decided I might as well just carry on and boy, was I wet!

However, I must admit I did feel a certain amount of guilt using water to clean our drive when so many are dying of thirst because they don't have access to water.

So having seen enough water in the last couple of days to last me sometime, I decided I would NOT take actual water for today's August Challenge.

Instead, here is a VIPOK - otherwise known as the "gubbins" for Mr. HCB's automatic WATERING system in his greenhouse. When we go away, we can go in confidence, knowing that this will do the necessary watering - dispersing the right amount at the right time, so we don't have to bother the neighbours, although Lyn gladly did it until she was poorly and felt she couldn't continue. Where would we be without our little gizmos?

Following on from my Water blip last week, I will be sending £15 to Wateraid - and Mr. HCB and I have decided to donate £2 a month, which is less than the price of a cup of coffee because I was amazed to read that if I give that amount, it will provide CLEAN, SAFE DRINKING WATER for a child for LIFE! I realise their lives aren’t necessarily that long where disease is rife, but I also know that every little helps.

“When the grass is greener at other people's feet,
it is not because the grass chose to take up that complexion.
But it is because, they have deliberately irrigated
it on regular accounts.”
Israelmore Ayivor

P.S. In case you were wondering, VIPOK stands for Very Important Piece of Kit!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.