An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Summer Firework...

At last my blips are up to date!!! (Well apart from Cornwall ones. Still wading through all the photos I took there!) Backblips start here.

The last few weeks have been pretty hectic with one thing or another, and in amongst it all D & I and Alan have been getting to know his new support workers and helping them get to know him.

I knew things would be different when Alan left school what with changes to routine and new people about the place but I don't think I was prepared for how tiring it would be.

Over the last two school years, I've gotten used to waving Alan off to school in the morning and then having the rest of the day to organise myself, do what needs done (or not depending on how the mood takes me ;-)) and generally have lots of freedom. It's a bit of a culture shock having to be here not just to give Alan his lunch (since he still won't eat for other people!) but to support the new PA's as they get to know him and his routine, as well fit in with our routine.

Thankfully the three ladies are wonderful and once again I am struck by how lucky we are to have these amazing people come into our lives. Each of them with totally different personalities and ideas for getting to know Alan. Thankfully he thinks all three of them are fabulous (although he seems to have decided the 20 year old blonde is his favourite ;-)) and as each of them get more confident in their ability to look after him, his anxiety levels (and mine!) are dropping.

As I type, he's off out to Stirling with Ed and (young) Anna and I've had the chance to update my blip! Yay! If they stay out a little longer, I might even get the chance to get some commenting done. :D

I

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.