The End of the Line, Little River

Tonight's shot is taken down by the old railway station at Little River (now the Craft Station) at was once the end of the line.

The railway to Little River from Christchurch to Little River closed back in the 60's, the track now removed and stations repurposed or demolished. In it's place is the Little River Rail Trail (a frequent subject in many of my blips). Whilst I love the rail trail, the thought of a train running out to the Peninsula stirs my romantic soul; I'd love to jump on a train into Christchurch from the bottom of the valley, steam or otherwise! I often think how much more of a tourist attraction the rail would be, particularly when you think of the Kingston Flyer and Weka Pass Railway.

I took this shot with the fisheye, on my way home from the Little River A&P Show AGM. It's my last show AGM as convenor of the photography section as I've now resigned in advance of our preparations to relocate south. It's sad to leave the post, but at the same time I'm thinking of new opportunities...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.