Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

All Aboard!

Dear Diary,

I watched Murder on the Orient Express the other night, one of my favorite Agatha Christie stories, and decided to take a train ride myself. I love to ride on old trains and this Pullman carriage is from 1898. It just does short runs in the White Mountains of New Hampshire but it was great fun.

My first big trip, back in 1990, was a grand tour of England and I rode on the Orient Express from London to Bath and back. How I would love to do the trip on the continent! Train travel is the best way to see the world. I much prefer it to airplanes but, sadly, we've lost our train system in this country for the most part and there are few of these vintage trains still running.

This was a very spur of the moment outing for me. I hadn't planned on doing it when I set out but I drove by the train station and thought, "Why not?". I think it is fun to be totally spontaneous from time to time.

"Yes, yes, I know. Life is like a train, Mademoiselle. It goes on. And it is a good thing that that is so." - Hercule Poirot The Mystery of the Blue Train

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.