Pencil sharpener

Ooooh.
Old skool.
Having a pencil sharpener clearly means I have a pencil.
Old technology.
Today I was asked by at least half of the children I taught "Miss, please can I borrow a pencil?".
(Strictly speaking, a number of them actually said "please can I lend a pencil?" to which I responded in my usually obtuse manner "yes if you want to" ...pregnant pause...student then asks if I have forgotten about the pencil...I say "no, you said you wanted to lend a pencil ...I am waiting for you to lend it to me". Puzzled look. "But Miss, I need a pencil". "oooooh, so you would like ME to lend YOU a pencil. I see. Why didn't you say so?")
Anyway, I digress.
What happened to children bringing a pencil case to school that contained a pen, a pencil, a ruler and a rubber? Maybe even (gosh-darnit) a Set square and a protractor?!?!
When I asked why the aforementioned students didn't have pencils, they appeared quite taken aback - "What do we need a pencil for Miss? We are using computers". NOT ALL DAY. You must need writing implements somewhere along the way. AAAAArgh. My ICT students are positively terrified at the moment as they have to complete a paper based planning task that involves using a pencil and a ruler.
Shock. Horror. What is the system coming to when they have to get OFF the computers for an hour?!

Teehee.

My lovely green pencil sharpener. wondrous thing. Can never bloody find it when I need it. I know I left it here somewhere. Pencil sharpener pixie hides it. (The pencil sharpener pixie is related to the Key Hiding fairy and the less common Climbing Harness tangle gnome)

It's time I gave up on working after 3 hours sat here ploughing through my job description and roles tonight. Was interesting though - so the Squid of Despair once more disappears into oblivion (see Saturday 6th February!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.