Buttertubs - Birthday Blip

A slow start this morning as I couldn't wake up. The weather wasn't great but we decided to go for a ride in the Yorkshire Dales.

We stopped at Hawes for a picnic lunch in the car park. It was rather cold and all the tea shops were full so we had a hot chocolate sitting outside. We had planned to do Hawdraw Force but the wind was cold and it has started to rain so we gave that a miss.

We drove up over the buttertubs pass and the weather was better over the other side. We managed to miss the buttertubs though so we went back over to find them, almost missed them again, turned round and went back.

The buttertubs are 20m deep limestone potholes. It is said that the name of the potholes came from the times when farmers would rest there on their way to market. During hot weather they would lower the butter they had produced into the potholes to keep it cool.

It was a long but lovely drive, with a few trips down memory lane thrown in.

UPDATE
I've been counting the days to my blip birthday and then nearly missed it, I thought it was tomorrow! This is my 730th consecutive blip. Two years, amazing! I really didn't think I would manage every day but I soon became hooked. I've made so many friends over this time. I enjoy sharing with people each day and your comments keep me going when times are tough. I've loved having a few blipmeets and I look forward to many more. I can't remember life without blip! THANKYOU for all your love and support. My membership is paid up so here's to the next year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.