Two Little Dickie Birds Sitting On A ....

Ridge.

I got some lovely bugs shots today including a small crab spider that had caught a hoverfly, a woundwort shieldbug new to me, a close up of a spider's spinnerets and a beautiful male brimstone butterfly. I Blipped a bug yesterday so went in search of birds. They seem to be still lying low.

I heard two robins singing with their beaks closed. I have experienced this before. It's difficult to work out where the sound is coming from. I love to hear their song sotto voce.

I see swallows wheeling high over our property but they don't nest with us. I was therefore surprised to see these two young ones on the ridge of a disused glasshouse. When one of them yawned while it was preening it revealed its bright yellowy orange gape. Amazing to think these young birds will soon be setting off for South Africa. There were plenty of insects on the wing for them, a couple of dragonflies were hawking with the birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.