Don?t Know Nuffink

By Mrski1

Up and Down

Today Phoebe woke up slightly earlier than usual, I think because it was somewhere different when she woke she just wanted up straight away, so up we got at around 6:45, no problem for me though as I'm usually up earlier than this for work.

We then had breakfast consisting of Oatibix, Phoebe didn't seem to want to eat much, but when my mum tried she took it from her, I think she was just playing up with me! We then got dressed and headed off to Oldmeldrum to a place called Hoodles.

I've never been myself, some of the cycling club go there as they hold spinning and various fitness classes, but it was fantastic, whoever thought of it should be chuffed with how well it works. Hoodles is built in some old farm buildings, they have a cafe area where you can get some brilliant food, then through in the back of one of the buildings is a playbarn, this area also doubles up as places for the parents to sit, eat and watch the kids playing.

The playbarn was brilliant its a massive soft enclosed area, one section for under twos with mirrors, padded shapes to throw around, two slides and various places to crawl around in, we started Phoebe off in this first. She seemed a bit apprehensive at first as there were plenty of other kids around, but after crawling around the play area myself showing her the way, she soon took to it and before we knew it we were both laughing and screaming as we slid down the two slides side by side!

I then took her into the older kids section to see how she would get on using the bigger slide which goes up around two levels, we made our way through the punch bag area and climbed up the ramp, the first time I put her on my lap and as we went down she was thrilled by the whole experience, laughing all the way down, we made our way up for a second attempt only this time I sat in the slide next to her and held her hand on the way down, again she showed no fear as she giggled and rolled about on the floor at the bottom.

Only too soon it was time to leave to get some lunch, and as we left the play area Phoebe began to cry, she wanted to stay and play longer! In the Cafe there were too many kids and things happening around us for Phoebe to be interested in her soup, although she still managed to steal some of my panini!

We drove back to the house so my mum could head into Aberdeen, I thought Phoebe looked shattered and would want a sleep but she just wanted to stay awake and play, so we did! Megablocks were all over the carpet, books have been read, even my empty water bottle was used with Phoebe screwing the cap back on then shouting at me to take it off for her, I then put some music on and we began to dance, thankfully it was some good music, Coldplay and Kasabian, then the inevitable happened, I suddenly became overcome with emotions, it hits me like a car into a wall, and I began to cry, usually I can control it but this time I had no chance, luckily Phoebe was getting sleepy so I put her to bed and i'm currently making tea to take my mind off things.

Tomorrow might see a repeat of the tears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.