Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Machen Quarry

I had a mid morning call out, but got back home in time to make the wife's sarny and salad box. She didn't want the panini's left over from the NATO summit she'd brought home - that's my job to eat those! The expiry date was yesterday so I ate a bit and put the rest on the bird table. We have a red squirrel that seems to visit quite often now, and eats away.

A couple of days ago, the squirrel was sat on the fence looking into the conservatory. I did get a photo but as I'd already blipped him a couple of weeks ago it was too easy, so I found something else.

The rotary clothes line was full with bedding drying lovely in the sun, and when I checked it was dry and I brought it in. You never know with our weather and I was going out so couldn't take the chance of an earache!

I went out and did a local flight and got a nice photo of Machen Quarry. The local councillor in his monthly newsletter said it was mothballed, but on talking to a local resident out walking his dog, was told that the rock quarrying had stopped but they were still processing tarmac. That accounts for the vehicles you can see. You just can't trust what these politicians say.

I'm on call out overnight. There's a couple to do which will take me up until 1am, and then it's a case of sliding down the pole if I'm wanted. A did a night shift about a month ago and really enjoyed it. My camera will go with me. Hopefully I can get something worthwhile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.