Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Work in progress

Following on from my series of garden flowers using a white background, I returned to my studio* today to photograph bees. It was early evening and the light was poor so I did struggle. I had caught 2 bees and popped them into the fridge to slow them down for a few minutes. The bumble bee's extra body weight meant that it was far too lively on release. This smaller specimen took a while to warm up and fly off.

I had to use a focus stack otherwise the shutter speed was too slow for the aperture. Since the bee moved its legs about, this gave me quite a challenge when combining the images, so its not perfect, but it does show what a hairy beast this is.

Early in the afternoon, I took Mum to the Hearing Aid Clinic. You take a ticket, like at the supermarket deli counter, and wait your turn. The trouble is that you need to arrive before the ticket machine is brought out in order to stand a chance of being seen in the first hour and there is no queuing system for the machine, if you follow me. Most patients are elderly and have mobility problems, so it is possible to arrive early but not make it to the machine ahead of the rest of the crowd. There must be a better way.........

We were there for only 90 minutes which is better than any previous visit........sigh. The hearing aids have been adjusted so hopefully that will help.

PS *studio refers to a small table near the window in the lounge with a white card on it - I can dream!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.