Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In the English countryside

I went out to check a route for one of the festival walks today. Tree felling made the route hard for the walk leader to find, so I went to see whether it is feasible to use. It was a glorious day with a nip in the air, but bright and sunny.

I sat eating lunch on a pleasant bank overlooking a babbling brook - you get the picture I'm sure. Gradually I became aware that I was not alone. The sheep were curious and were gathering behind me. Sheep are usually so nervous. This group made me laugh when I saw their scary eyes in the image - go large.

I saw a different flock being rounded up by a sheep dog today. The dog was taking a small second flock of stragglers to join the first. For some reason the shepherd wanted her to stop and wait, but the dog was having none of it. She knew what needed doing and she did it. I met them later as the sheep were moved into a pen for their regular pedicure. The shepherd told me that the dog is very experienced and does what she thinks should be done these days!! Later, I met a farmer and his wife having tea at Slack House organic tearooms and they have a dog who is just the same. The wife commented to her husband, "she's been right when you've been wrong"!!

I love living in the country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.