TinyR

By TinyR

Let's Stay Together

The intention for today's photo had been to take my inspiration from 'Just Say No' by The Cast of Grange Hill! I'm a No voter as I'm sure you'll have gathered, but I felt this song said it better.

In the years and months running up to the referendum, I have not wavered. I'm as certain now as I was back then, more certain in fact, that voting no is absolutely in the best interests of Scotland and the rest of the UK. I'm not a traitor; or a Tory nor am I happy with the status quo. I love Scotland but I love being part of something bigger and the suggestion that we are somehow fairer and more just than our friends elsewhere in the UK sits very uncomfortably with me. I'm also pretty sure I wouldn't be allowed to cross the threshold of my family home, if I entertained the thought of voting conservative for even a second!

I do however think change is necessary. I hope dearly that Scotland votes no, because I feel together we can achieve more than we ever could if we go it alone. I hope the promised devolved powers become a reality and I hope the Scotland we all love goes on to even greater things than any one of us could imagine.

As I cast my vote tonight, I felt lucky, excited and scared in equal measure. If opinion polls are to be believed, it's going to go right down to the wire and the thought of such a divided society, albeit a more politically activated and inspired one isn't a great thought. Concerns aside, I fully intend to stay up to watch the results come in and history unfold. It'll be a tense and exciting night; that's for sure. I had planned to get a nap in beforehand, but it just wouldn't happen!

When the sun rises tomorrow, let's put behind us all the differences of recent times. Let what unites us be greater than what divides us. Whatever the result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.